Guilt

• 8 Replies
Guilt
« on: January 22, 2009, 04:17:29 AM »
Almost 17 years ago, I refused to go through a bone marrow transplant with my brother. We were both young. I feel a tremendous amount of guilt watching him struggle. I'm currently a nursing student and working on an epidemiology review paper on thalassemia. I thought nursing school would be of therapeutic value.

Offline Sharmin

• Little A
Re: Guilt
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 05:00:18 AM »
Hawaii,

Welcome to the website, it is great to have you here.  Bone marrow transplants are not free of struggle and pain - and they don't necessarily work.  At times bmt can be fatal.  You made a decision when you were very young so you cannot feel guilty for that decision now.  What you can do now is to offer your brother support and friendship now.  Whereas you guilt won't do anything for him - your understanding will make all of the difference. 

I hope that your brother is taking good care of himself - transfusing and chelating as required.  If all goes well there will hopefully be a safe cure available to your brother in the near future.  Best of luck with your education and the paper that you are working on. 

:welcome2

Best,

Sharmin
Sharmin

Offline Zaini

• Life is too short to be perfect.
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 07:09:13 AM »
We are human beings and we are prone to making mistakes and taking wrong decisions,that's only human,yes that could have changed your brother's life but it's not necessary,BMT doesn't always work,sometimes it does but it's a struggle in itself.

What you can do to feel better is to be there for him when ever he needs anything in life,be supportive and urge him to chelate more and more,with low ferritin levels he can spend a fairly normal life.

If you or your brother have any questions we are here for you :) .

Zaini.
^*^Xaini^*^

Offline nice friend

• Thalassemia Major
  • If I Can, Why Not You??... If I Can U TOO !!!...
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2009, 12:10:31 PM »