Thalassemia & Growth !? ??

• 7 Replies
Thalassemia & Growth !? ??
« on: September 01, 2010, 10:00:41 AM »
Hello every1,

Does Thalassemia affect Height ? in any possible way ?!!?

What do u say ?

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
Re: Thalassemia & Growth !? ??
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2010, 02:57:31 AM »
Yes, thalassemia does affect normal growth, but closer to normal growth can occur if hemoglobin levels are always kept high enough and compliance with chelation is maintained. Replacing the vitamins and minerals depleted by thal are also important for normal growth.
Andy

All we are saying is give thals a chance.

Offline Bobby

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2010, 03:09:06 AM »
When I was younger my Hgb stayed around a 7, any lower and I was transfused. I may have had 5 - 7 transfusions. I was always the smallest in my class too, but in 9th grade i started playing basketball and had a growth spurt. I made it to 6ft by high school graduation and 6ft 2.5inches my first year in college. I am the tallest person in my family. My sister is a Thal minor and she is 5ft 10inches.

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2010, 11:50:57 AM »
I knew something was not right !

- I'll be 20 in 2 months and I'm only 5'7 I haven't grown in about 4.5 - 5 years !!!

Is there anything I can do ? I heard it's possible to grow untill you are 21, if fix things perhaps it'll work !? what can I do ??

Andy :- " if hemoglobin levels are always kept high enough and compliance with chelation is maintained. Replacing the vitamins and minerals " How can I attain this ?!

Bobby :- are you saying blood transfusion helped u attain height ? what thal do you have minor or major ?

Offline eesha

« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2010, 03:08:42 PM »
Zaltan u think ur short at 5'7! think again!

Im 25 and only 5ft i look half my age, i have cause to be upset! if i was ur height id be jumping thorugh hula hoops! that height is perfectly normal

Offline Moik