Mysterious Whooshing in Left Ear?

• 6 Replies
Mysterious Whooshing in Left Ear?
« on: July 19, 2012, 06:28:35 PM »
Hello, Thal Pals!

I'm a newbie, with a question and a hypothesis. The question is this: Has anyone experienced a whooshing noise in one or both ears that seems to be in rhythm with your heartbeat? 

Since 2006, I've experienced a whooshing noise in my left ear, especially noticable when I'm meditating, and at night when all is quiet.  Despite my doctor's diagnosis of "pulsatile tinnitus," I believe that what I've been hearing is my actual pulse, and not a noise fabricated by my brain.

Now, for my hypothesis:  I believe this whooshing may be caused by intermittent high blood pressure, caused in turn by the hypoxia of anemia, combined with effects of mild hyperventilation, or too much carbon dioxide in the blood, from inadvertent shallow breathing. 

I say this because I noticed that, after awakening at 2 a.m. this morning, deep breathing through my diaphragm made the whooshing noise disappear.  And as long as I continued to breathe deeply, allowing my abdomen to rise and fall, my pulse was silent.  When I experimented by purposely holding my breath, the whooshing noise returned.

So I meditated for a couple of hours on the great compassion mantra, while using this deep breathing technique, before falling back to sleep.

Has anyone experienced anything like this? 

Looking forward to your thoughts,
--Clare MacQueen  :-)
All best wishes,
--Clare  :-)

Offline Sharmin

• Little A
Re: Mysterious Whooshing in Left Ear?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 07:16:11 PM »
Dear Clare,

I have struggled with the same problem since December.  I hear a whooshing sound in my ear that coincides with my pulse -and it is also more prominent in my left ear. I am also a thal minor and my hemoglobin is usually between 105 - 116. 

I find that neck massage does help and that drinking caffeine makes it worse.

Sharmin
Sharmin

Offline Pratik

• Thal Major.