Thalassemia patient from Philippines

• 10 Replies

Offline Zai

Thalassemia patient from Philippines
« on: February 21, 2007, 08:24:01 AM »
Hi. I'm Zai. I am 21. I am a newly diagnosed thalassemia case. I just found out about this illness two months ago. I am a newly registered nurse here in the Philippines. It's quite frustrating for me to know that I have such disease. I thought after I graduated, I could be the one to take over my family's financial needs. However, after only few months of practicing my profession, I was diagnosed with thalassemia.
     I have always been sickly since I wa a child, which is one reason why I have ventured into nursing. I have undergone multiple blood transfusions since I was five. Throughout my 21 years of existence, every doctor I've seen thought that it's a simple Iron deficiency anemia and so every doctor advised me to take iron supplements, and to count that, I have been taking iron supplements for 16 years  only to know that iron is contraindicated for cases of thalassemia. I had my serum iron checked recently and it revealed abnormally high value which caused affectation of my liver and spleen. And lately, I'm experiencing frequent palpitations and irregular menstruations. I was advised to take oral therapy to reduce the excessive iron in my body, (EXJADE). However, it is too costly here in my country. My doctor said I am in need of the therapy immediately,to avoid complications of other organs. but to this day, I am still searching for ways to gather resources so I can afford to have my therapy. The only weapon I am holding for now are prayers and hope that I will be able to live a few more years to fulfill my dreams for my family.  :biggrin

Offline §ãJ¡Ð ساجد

• Beta Thal Major
  • اَسّلامُ علیکم Peace be Upon you
    • Islamic Resources
Re: Thalassemia patient from Philippines
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2007, 08:49:17 AM »
Hello Zai!

Welcome to the site! :welcome