Repliva 21/7 and Thal

• 8 Replies

Offline gms

• "hello"
Repliva 21/7 and Thal
« on: August 08, 2007, 09:46:48 PM »
I am new to this online support forum and have a question. I've known i have had Thal Minor for years now and just did not take it serious.  I am very active, overall great health, never been overweight, exercise regularly, and eat very well.  I feel generally vitale and strong everyday.

Recently i have had bouts and symptoms from perimenopause. My OB/GYN wants me to take Repliva 21/7 tablets for two months for Anemia due to blood loss from Peri-menopause. Blood loss has stopped for over one week, and my blood test results came back very low in IRON, thus doc gave me Rx for Iron Therapy treatment.  I informed the doc that i am Thalassemia Minor and he stated Repliva would be fine to take even w/Thal Minor.

Immediately after leaving doc's office I called my sister, who also is Thal Minor. She informed me that her OB/GYN told her NEVER EVER to take iron supplements w/Thal Minor!  What's a woman to do??? Is this true?  Or are we going off the deep end over this thing?  Should i consult my blood doctor over this treatment? Please advise.   Impatiently waiting...   :(

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
Re: Repliva 21/7 and Thal
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2007, 10:15:09 PM »
Hi GMS,

Whether you need iron is determined by iron studies. If your hematocrit or hemoglobin level is low, it is NOT an indication that you need iron. The only certain method for determining actual iron levels are iron studies, specifically a serum ferritin test. Find out how the doctor determined your iron level. If iron studies have not been done, request at least a serum ferritin test before taking iron supplements.

While it is true that most thal minors do not benefit from iron, sometimes minors do become iron deficient. In your situation, this may be true, but you should verify that your iron is actually low before proceeding.
Andy