Thalessemia minor and aviation

• 8 Replies
Thalessemia minor and aviation
« on: December 26, 2010, 05:20:27 PM »
Hi everyone, I have recently joined this forum as i found it highly informative.  However I have a specifci querry and that concerns the link between thalessemia minor and military aviation.  I have been aviating since the last 21 years and all these years probably my Hb count was above 13 but recently my Hb count came as 10.5 and I was diagonosed with Beta Thalessemia minor.  They say that I can continue in aviation as long as my Hb stays above 11.5. My question is that " is there any scientific backing to this figureof 11.5"

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
Re: Thalessemia minor and aviation
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2010, 07:57:06 PM »
Hi Tango,

I've seen this mentioned before but have never seen a good explanation as to why this would disqualify someone from flying.

This is from the US Navy's guidelines. It may take a few seconds for the page to load.
http://www.med.navy.mil/sites/navmedmpte/nomi/nami/arwg/Documents/Waiver%20Guide%20-%20Hematology.pdf

8.5 THALASSEMIAS
AEROMEDICAL CONCERNS: Thalassemias produce a low-grade anemia that can cause problems at altitude. Splenic enlargement and worsening of the anemia can occur under conditions of stress.
WAIVER: Aviation personnel must meet the hematocrit standards previously listed in the Anemia section (section 8.1). Personnel with beta thalassemia minor (heterozygous carriers – beta thalassemia trait) or with alpha thalassemia minor (1 or 2 gene loci absent) may be considered for waiver provided there are no other hemoglobinopathies present. Any anemia must be limited to a mild, microcytic anemia. Patients who have required splenectomy because of their thalassemia are permanently disqualified from military flying.
INFORMATION REQUIRED:
1. Establishment of the detailed diagnosis
a. Estimation of HbA2, HbF, serum Fe and ferritin and by quantitative electrophoresis