My Story.... Living with Thala Minor!

• 1 Replies
My Story.... Living with Thala Minor!
« on: March 17, 2011, 10:06:32 PM »
Hello
My name is Sonia, I am new to these discussion but I'm very glad I found them! I have Thalassemia minor I found out I had Thala Minor when I got my 1st born childs blood work done at the age of one years old... The doctor didn't make a big deal about it and added that it was just a trait and that I had no need to worry about it that the only thing that would be noticed was low levels of blood, and that not even Milti Vit. or Iron pills would help so to not worry, I trusted this doctor very much and never thought it was a big deal to have Thala... let me add that I had the worst pregnacy a woman could ever have, I was always weak, had sever "Anemia" my doctor said. I always felt sick: Headaches, cramps, weak, sleepy, cold, I was always pale, and vomited daily up to the date of my childs birth. thought out the whole process my doctors thought I was just severely Anemic, not once was I told I had or might have Thala Minor. On my daughter labor and delivery I had a long and painful labor when my child came out everything appeared fine, But I grow weak with in 5. I kept informing husband about me feeling extremely cold, all they did was keep giving me warm blankets, I told them I felt way to much blood on my bed to check me they did and told me everything was normal... I became to weak to even get up on my own to the restroom so they helped me and when they got me out of bed blood poured on to the floor and I lost consciousness, husband told me the put me back in bed and called Dr. I was in and out and remember everything like as if it was a bad dream.... By the time dr came and stopped the blood flow I dont know how... till this day I know God had to have been there with me! they ran test and came back with the results that my blood level was at 4 and that I would have to stay in the hospital till they got me to a level of 7 at least to be l