Confused and distressed

• 7 Replies

Offline rubab

Confused and distressed
« on: September 12, 2006, 12:11:40 AM »
Hi,

I am a 20 year old college student. I always knew that I have some sort of blood anomaly, and it has been today that my doctor cofirmed that I have thalassemia. I don't really know what to make of it, but do feel really distressed, and quite confused ... I am an international student attending a Ivy league school, and uptil yesterday my life was full of tomorrows after tomorrows, and suddenly tody, I find myself in front of a sea that seems to shrink onto me ... I am really distressed, and just confused ... Can anyone please leave me a few words on how people like us can go on with a regular life without feeling like this?

Best,
Rubab.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2006, 01:26:47 AM by rubab »

Offline KHALIFA

• ONE FOR ALL AND ALL FOR ONE
Re: Confused and distressed
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2006, 12:18:58 AM »
i wish now am front of you to tell you   T A K E   I T  E A S Y   you are not the first one have thalassimia and you are not the last one ....  so just take it easy and look forwored to the futer that is't

khalifa :biggrin
RED_PILOT

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2006, 12:30:15 AM »
Hi Rubab,

I don't think you should be worried. There are three different classifications of thalassemia, major, intermedia and minor. It is a genetic blood disorder that involves the hemoglobin gene and if you have two thal genes you are major or intermedia, but these have serious symptoms of which you would be well aware. A major couldn't survive until age 20 without frequent blood transfusions. Intermedias also have many symptoms, including extreme fatigue and enlarged spleens and often also require blood transfusions. If the most you've ever noticed are mild anemia and tiredness, then you won't have a lot of problems.