AP Biology Student Looking for Insight

• 14 Replies

Offline faitdavid

AP Biology Student Looking for Insight
« on: May 17, 2011, 08:17:09 PM »
Hello, my name is David, I am a 16 year old student in North Carolina. I recently developed an interest in thalassemia when I found out about my family history of the condition. I was blessed with not receiving it, but my baby cousin was not so lucky. In my AP Biology class, we have learned about genetic disorders, and now we are doing a project on this. I saw this as the perfect opportunity to learn more about thalassemia, spread awareness, and help out. I want to know... What is an average day like? What do thal patients want to be able to do easier?

Offline Manal

• mother of thal intermedia child
Re: AP Biology Student Looking for Insight
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 12:12:56 AM »
Hi faltdavid and welcome to the site :biggrin

I think that being comfortable with chelators is best thing thals want to be easier in terms of administration, side effects and price too.

And we definitely hope for a cure one day
Feel free to discuss whatever you want

Manal

Offline faitdavid

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2011, 02:21:46 AM »
Thanks Manal!

I need to do some background research on chelation. I know it's removing excess iron in the blood, in this case, as a result of frequent transfusions, but I don't know much about how. I know that since it's iron, the chelator is deferoxamine, but how does the process work? And you said that it was uncomfortable, if you don't mind my asking, how is it?

Thanks,
faitdavid

Offline Zaini

• Life is too short to be perfect.
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2011, 03:36:32 AM »
Hi David,

:welcomewagon on the forum,