Just want to reintroduce myself...

• 5 Replies

Offline Danielle

• Beta Thal Major
Just want to reintroduce myself...
« on: August 18, 2011, 01:47:10 AM »
I have been away for a long time and there are so many new members here, so I would like to reintroduce myself to those that do not know me and for the ones who may not remember. :)

My name is Danielle, but usually go by Dee. I'm a 34 year old Thal Major from New York's Long Island, and I'm one of the administrators on this site. Andy has done an amazing job here and I'd like to applaud him but I cannot access the smilies from my phone so I'll just :clap :clap :clap . :)

I receive 2 units of washed red cells every two weeks or sooner, depending on how quickly my counts drop. I was using Desferal since I was 4 years old until my life saving drug Exjade became available to us here in the States. I've been using Exjade for about 4 years now and I couldn't be happier with it. My ferritins have gone from 2,000-4,000 down to around 500 now.

I'm also a Registered Nurse and Forensic Nurse, not working right now due to surgeries and insurance issues but I'm currently looking to get back into a job as soon as my next surgery is over with. These surgeries have nothing to do with Thal, I seem to have been born with intestinal issues as well, so I've been dealing with that. Last month I had over a foot of my large intestine removed and when I heal I'll need another surgery. I'm doing ok otherwise.

I'm looking forward to talking to some old friends while meeting all you new guys as well. It will be a pleasure to "meet" you all.

Hope you are all doing well. Miss you guys. And again, Andy, you are the best and I know in my heart that Lisa is very proud. :)

---
- ~Danielle

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 02:08:03 AM by Andy »

Offline Narendra

Re: Just want to reintroduce myself...
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 07:35:30 PM »
Welcome back Danielle aka Dee.