fainting

• 4 Replies
fainting
« on: January 13, 2013, 06:33:45 PM »
Hi! I'm new to the group. I am 31 and have thal minor. I have known about it since college- was tested after thinking I probably had it because my mom has it and so did my grandpa. The only thing I ever really knew about it was that I shouldn't take iron supplements, and that during my mother's pregnancies (3), she had a total of 21 transfusions.

Ever since I was very little, I have fainted. I've fainted in every circumstance- normal day doing nothing much, being at the gym, socializing with friends, while being sick, etc. Last night, we were at church and I felt fine before going- in the first 15 minutes (during singing) I felt faint and had to sit down- this didn't help so we ended up leaving. This has happened many times at church (which is very odd), during weddings, etc.. and I don't think it has anything to do with standing for long periods of time (as I'm a teacher and stand ALL day and have never fainted at school!). I was just wondering if anyone else experiences this and if it could be related to thal. I've been through so much testing- even have a blood sugar monitor... I was told I am sodium deficient (and the dr. I had at the time literally said, "just carry pickle juice in your purse.") and that might be the cause, I've also been to a neurologist, etc. Now I'm just beginning to wonder if it is a form of anxiety or panic attack as I feel l can talk myself in/or out of the fainting (that sounds nuts, i know!).

Anyone with thal minor have these same "fainting" episodes? My mom said that she did- but only when she was pregnant. This  wouldn't explain the episodes throughout my life. Just looking for answers!

Thanks for your help!

Offline Pratik

• Thal Major.
Re: fainting
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2013, 07:35:04 PM »