Hypothyroidism

• 5 Replies

Offline maha

Hypothyroidism
« on: May 03, 2009, 12:42:47 PM »
Hi
My sister ( thal minor), has been on 200mcg of thyroxine tablets for her hypothyroid for almost 9 years now. Recently she has been experiencing palpitations and fatigue. Her doc said that her hypothyroid has become hyperthyroid. Is this possible? She is working on reducing the dose slowly to 100mcg and will be repeating the tests after a month. Last month even I was diagnosed with hypo and my doc has started me on 50mcg thyroxine. Next week I will be repeating the tests to adjust the dosage. Andy is there anything else I should be looking or asking for. I am a pro at thalassemia now but a novice when it comes to hypothyroidism.

Thankyou
maha

Offline zahra

Re: Hypothyroidism
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2009, 06:31:35 PM »
Hi Maha,
I am also thal minor with hypothyroidism. I think there are several causes . Mine is Hashimotos thyroiditis which is autoimmune and I dont think reversible. I wouldnt say your sister is really hyperthyroid anyway unless she stays with symptoms at a zero dose thyroxine. Right now they are only reducing. I am also reducing down from 200 mcg at the moment but thats b/c my dose had been increased due to higher needs in pregnancy and during lactation. It seems Hypothyroid ism runs in families. We are 5 siblings and 3 are taking eltroxin at the moment. I am glad you have been diagnosed and will now be treated. I hope you will feel much better.
Zahra

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2009, 06:52:52 PM »