Ginseng Honey

• 5 Replies

Offline maha

Ginseng Honey
« on: May 06, 2009, 06:57:37 AM »
Hi
I have been giving Hassan 1tsp ginseng honey daily for the past three months. Between oct-jan he had been so so sick with one infection after the other that I thought of giving him ginseng honey to strengthen his immunity. Now he is doing good but is it ok to continue the ginseng honey as the side effects of ginseng frightens me. The honey has 1% ginseng in 99% blossom honey. Actually Hassan has been on hypertransfusions since jan2008, but his pre tx hb wasn`t increasing beyond 8.5gm/dl. This march his pre tx hb was 9.6 gm/dl for the first time. He was to recieve 225cc in march as per his weght of 14.5kg but due to some problem( a diff story altogether) he recieved only 180cc. But in April his pre tx hb was 10.3 which was a big surprise. I don`t know if its the ginseng , hence the hesitation to discontinue it . Is it safe to take ginseng continuosly considering it is only a small amount.

thankyou
maha

Offline cherieann

Re: Ginseng Honey
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2009, 08:31:51 AM »
When I was little my parents had me take a ginseng spoon mixed in tea or straight. My father took it also to help with his ailments. I was about 6 months old and didn't stop until I was 10 or 11 years,
It didn't do me harm and the doctors seemed to think it helped me. I stopped it as it was expensive and I didn't like the taste. Long term didn't hurt me so I think that if you feel there is improvements, wait til next month and check again the results.
You know how your child is doing so trust your instincts as well as doctors.
Thalassaemia is a lifestyle not a burden.

Offline maha

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2009, 08:54:14 AM »
Hi Cheriann