Thalassemia Patients in the UK

• 8 Replies

Offline PositiveVibes

Thalassemia Patients in the UK
« on: October 08, 2009, 09:13:54 PM »
Hi to all of you !
I moved to Portsmouth, UK last week and I even had my first transfusion.
The thing that really bothers me is that I am a student here in a University and I have to be treated in Portsmouth , where there are no thalassemia patients.
However, I got in touch with a haematologist here in the local hospital and we arranged a blood transfusion for me .

I want to ask all of you who have regular blood transfusion:

Do they transfuse you cold blood or they warm it before they start transfuse it. I was used to get my blood with the normal temperature of a human body.. In Portsmouth they gave me this blood right directly from the fridge.

I still do not know what is better, pleasee tell me !

Thank you !
Rozitka

Offline nick

Re: Thalassemia Patients in the UK
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2009, 11:12:08 AM »
Welcome to the UK!  I hope you will like it here.

I am a beta thalassaemic and the approach usually adopted when I had blood is for it to be given to me cold usually starting slowly so there are no reactions. 

It is usually better I have been told for this approach because for some reason this causes problems with the blood.

I hope this answers your question Rozitika.

Offline Manal

• mother of thal intermedia child
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2009, 12:10:41 PM »

Hi Rozitka
It will be better if our members would tell us about their transfusion expierence. But from what i know is that blood should be warmed before transfuion in order to avoid some reactions as a result of the cold temperture of blood. You can also read in the following links where they also advise warm blood transfusion