25 yr old HISPANIC w/ Alpha thal minor

• 5 Replies

Offline PsychNurse85

25 yr old HISPANIC w/ Alpha thal minor
« on: March 11, 2011, 07:02:20 PM »
Hello my thal pals Newbie here, my name is Lorena im 25 years old and was diagnosed with Alpha Thalassemia Minor on August 2010. My mom has always told me that a doctor in Mexico said i have "smaller than normal red blood cells" but just left it at that. So i've always known i was mycrocytic. I recently graduated as a Psychiatric Technician on dec 2010 :) ,i've always been the lazy child..but omg the intense stress of school and feeling extra  tired and exhausted, not able to concentrate than most people in my class.. i was like ok "this is not normal", so i went to my doctor and he checked for anemia.. he said something was not normal about the size and countt of my red blood cells, so he tested again like 2 more times, he didnt know what it was so he sent me to a Hemotologist, which diagnosed me as  a  thal.. well let me tell you, they were all in disbelief because im Hispanic and its rare because i do not fit the profile at all! He even asked me, "Are you sure your mom is your mom and your dad is your dad?? (his exact words) umm.. yea i believe so!. according to my mom and dad i am their child lol.. my dad is from Michoacan and my mom is from Jalisco.. so where on earth did i inherit this disorder (of course they have to be tested and of course i has to come from them) but the fact that i'm hispanic doctors were in shock ???
anyways there is proof that minors have symptoms, thats the reason i was diagnosed because if it wasnt for feeling tired and exhausted (just to name a few) i probably wouldn't know that i had this disorder..
Anyways hope you're all doing well , im so glad i found this site!  :heartred
Lets me know im not alone :)
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 11:34:52 PM by PsychNurse85 »

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
Re: 25 yr old HISPANIC w/ Alpha thal minor