Need help regarding alpha thalassemia

• 20 Replies
Need help regarding alpha thalassemia
« on: January 20, 2014, 11:01:34 AM »
I am male from South east and recently diagnosed with Known alpha thalassemia trait (
3.7deletion ) and a Hb variant. I am an engineer by profession and live in Canada

Pathologist Comments : The patient is heterozygous for Hb
Fontainebleau. This variant is not known
to be clinically significant.

I am curious to know, How it happened. How would it affect my life and what do I need to do in regards to treatment, eating habits and lifestyle. Thanks

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
Re: Need help regarding alpha thalassemia
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2014, 03:57:22 PM »
You were born with these alpha variants. They are hereditary, but you may have never known you carried alpha thal because it is mostly asymptomatic. The Fontainebleau is clinically insignificant, but you should be aware of its properties in blood smears so that doctors don't label you as diabetic by misinterpreting tests for HbA1c, which is used to monitor diabetics. Hb Fontainebleau behaves just like HbA1C in the blood smear, so the chances of misinterpretation are there.
Andy

All we are saying is give thals a chance.

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2014, 06:59:10 PM »
I have been feeling general weakness since so many years, like cannot stand for more than few minutes and feel like sitting down on chair, more comfortable in sitting cross legged even on chair since feel tiredness in legs/ feel more comfortable , if I  have support of cushions under my arm and elbow while sitting. On top of it my nasal septum is deviated to left and because of sinusoidal and some  food allergy have lots of mucus and flem coming out of my mouth and nose, all the time and always carry napkinh in my hand or pocket

Anyway, I just want to know because of alpha thalassemia,  what could be the effect on my life