Pregnant w/ questions, please help!

• 2 Replies

Offline PipPio

Pregnant w/ questions, please help!
« on: January 21, 2015, 12:31:08 AM »
I'll just cut to the chase... I am 32 years old and 28 weeks pregnant and asked for my iron to be checked at my OBGYN's office today because the past month or so have been extremely tired, out breath, and sluggish.  Totally not myself but people kept telling me it's because I have a one-year old and I'm pregnant and that's enough to make me tired.  I'm a former college athlete, body builder, and currently an avid crossfitter (well not as much when I'm pregnant).  I'm also a PE teacher, so fitness is my passion!  I know my body and I knew something was wrong.  I asked for my iron to be tested- the finger prick test, and it came back 8.3.  My usual level is around 10.2-10.4, and it stayed around there with my last pregnancy.  Now I have an appointment to see a Hematologist, but I have a lot of questions!  Some specifically about pregnancy and others about Thal Minor in general.  Any help is so greatly appreciated!  Here are my questions...

1. What should I be prepared for?  Does having a number this low indicate anything about the baby or my health when it comes to delivery? 

2. What kind of treatment is best?

3. How do I find out exactly what form of thalassemia I have?  Should I ask for certain tests?  I have been reading so many posts and the complexity of this disease has surprised me- I was always told "Oh, not big deal, low iron, nothing you can do and it doesn't affect you except you can't give blood" Meanwhile, I've always wondered if it has hindered me when it came to sports performance because no matter how hard I'd train, I seemed to always hit a wall when it came to endurance activities.