High Altitude Trekking

• 2 Replies
High Altitude Trekking
« on: April 22, 2016, 03:18:18 PM »
Hi All.
Newbie here.
I’m planning to trek to Everest Base Camp, and was wondering if there are any thal minors on here who have done it, or done other treks at 5000+ metres above sea level.
I’ve seen a couple of older threads on this forum broaching the subject, however I was wondering if there had been any newer attempts at it.
I’ve contacted the International Society of Mountain Medicine and asked if they had any advice for any thalassemia minor’s for such an adventure. Below are their responses:
Anyway, hoping for some success stories for anyone on here to boost my confidence.

Dr. No. 1 –
I travelled with a group on a trek to Tengboche some years ago and one of the members had Thal minor. She was pretty athletic at sea level and did really well till we arrived in Namche The afternoon we arrived she was fine but by morning she was tired, anorexic and "not herself" Over the course of the "acclimatization day" the other group members did better and improved but this person was much slower to acclimate and had lower Sp02. Unwilling to turn back she made it up to Tengboche against advice and stayed the night there and descended to Namche the next day with some improvement and became significantly better on the way back to Lukla
In summary - much slower to acclimate - prob not ideal with the usual commercial group schedules, Maybe have a Sat monitor and a responsible companion / group leader able to monitor and apply AMS scoring and diagnosis

Dr. No. 2