Does jaundice normally increase post transfusion?

• 10 Replies

Offline zahra

Does jaundice normally increase post transfusion?
« on: November 20, 2008, 09:54:25 AM »
Hi Everybody,
My son had his first transfusion on Tuesday. Wednesday his eyes were more yellow than before and today they are even more than that. I s this normal after a transfusion?
Zahra

Offline Zaini

• Life is too short to be perfect.
Re: Does jaundice normally increase post transfusion?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2008, 10:38:18 AM »
Zahra,

I am sorry i don't exactly remember what is the cause of paleness in eyes,post transfusion,i  remember reading somewhere that paleness in eyes is the indication of bilirubin which is bi product of hemolysis , :huh ??? i am sorry i am not very good with the technical stuff,please wait for Sharmin,Manal or Andy.

Zaini.
^*^Xaini^*^

Offline poo gill

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2008, 12:05:16 PM »
hi Zahra

Dont worry, yellowish eyes are linked with haemolysis and they are very common with thal kids. give it a day or two and keep a look out for any rash or fever.

"We are like angels with just one wing. We can only fly by embracing each other." 

Offline Manal

• mother of thal intermedia child
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2008, 03:07:15 PM »
Dear Zahra

Did you use filter when you did the transfusion???

The reason for the yellow color could be the excess hemolysis or break down of the transfused red cells. This happens because antibodies in the blood react to the antigens in the donor blood. To avoid this an accurate cross match has to be done and usage of a filter during transfusion is very important

In my country, they usually give cortisone injection right before  the transfusions. This can help control the immediate antibody reaction and lead to longer life of the red blood cells

Did you check Hb after transfusion?

manal

Offline Sharmin

• Little A
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2008, 03:49:29 PM »
Zahra,